List of Universities (federal +state +private) in Nigeria approved by NUC (2019/2020 update Latest List)

List of Universities (federal +state +private) in Nigeria approved by NUC (2019/2020 update Latest List)

As you register for the 2019/2020 JAMB exams in your various accredited centers it is important we also give you a list of Universities in Nigeria. This list is going to compromise or made up of:

Uniben
  • all federal universities in Nigeria
  • all state universities in Nigeria
  • All private universities in Nigeria

List of federal Universities in Nigeria approved by NUC (2019/2020 update Latest List)

Federal Universities are hot cake amongst admission seekers, this is so because they offer one of the best lecture rooms, laboratories, research centers although this is not surprising because federal universities receive more funding than state universities.

There are about 43 federal universities in Nigeria as at today.

It’s also on record that the number of professors in federal universities dwarf That of state and private universities. With out being told federal universities are cheaper in terms of school fees, acceptance fee and hostel accommodation.

In terms of popularity all federal universities are popular and this is evident in the huge number of candidates that struggles for limited space each year through their admission process.

If you have made up your mind to study in any federal university you must be ready to face stiff competition in their admission process. Now let’s show you a list of federal universities in Nigeria.

S/N FEDERAL UNIVERSITIES COURSES YEAR EST.
1 Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi ATBU Courses 1988
2 Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria ABU post UTME details and Departmental Cut off Point 1962
3 Bayero University, Kano BUK Courses 1975
4 Federal University Gashua, Yobe FUGASHUA Courses 2013
5 Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun FUPRE Courses 2007
6 Federal University of Technology, Akure FUTA Courses 1981
7 Federal University of Technology, Minna FUTMINNA Courses 1982
8 Federal University of Technology, Owerri FUTO Courses 1980
9 Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State FUD Courses 2011
10 Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina FUDMA Courses 2011
11 Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State FUKASHERE Courses 2011
12 Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State FULAFIA Courses 2011
13 Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State FULOKOJA Courses 2011
14 Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State FUNAI Courses 2011
15 Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa FUOTUOKE Courses 2011
16 Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State FUOYE Courses 2011
17 Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State FUWUKARI Courses 2011
18 Federal University, Birnin Kebbi FUBK Courses 2013
19 Federal University, Gusau Zamfara FUGUS Courses 2013
20 Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike MOUAU Courses 1992
21 Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola MAUTECH Courses 1981
22 National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos NOUN Courses 2002
23 Nigeria Police Academy Wudil NPA Courses 2013
24 Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna NDA Courses 1985
25 Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka UNIZIK Courses 1992
26 Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife OAU Courses 1962
27 University of Abuja, Gwagwalada UNIABUJA Courses 1988
28 Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta FUNAAB Courses 1988
29 University of Agriculture, Makurdi FUAM Courses 1988
30 University of Benin UNIBEN Courses 1970
31 University of Calabar UNICAL Courses 1975
32 University of Ibadan UI Courses 1948
33 University of Ilorin UNILORIN Courses 1975
34 University of Jos UNIJOS Courses 1975
35 University of Lagos UNILAG Courses 1962
36 University of Maiduguri UNIMAID Courses 1975
37 University of Nigeria, Nsukka UNN Courses 1960
38 University of Port-Harcourt UNIPORT Courses 1975
39 University of Uyo UNIUYO Courses 1991
40 Usumanu Danfodiyo University UDUSOK Courses 1975
41 Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State   2018
42 Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna   2018
43 Nigerian Army University Biu   2018
READ  University of Ibadan ( UI) Accredited course 2019/2020 admission requirements /accredited courses offered in UI

List of state Universities in Nigeria approved by NUC (2019/2020 update Latest List)

There are about 47 state universities in Nigeria presently. Most state universities if not all are now competitive just like the federal universities in Nigeria.

But the only disadvantage here is that state universities are a little expensive than federal universities. Another challenge is that most state universities don’t have hostel accommodation.

Apart from the challenges we mentioned above there is no other disadvantage in schooling in any of the state universities in Nigeria.

Employers of Labour will never ask you if you graduated from a federal university or from a state university. All certificates are the same. So don’t get scared because of what we listed above or because of the numerous advantages we attached to federal institutions above.

State 45

S/N STATE UNIVERSITIES VICE CHANCELLOR WEBSITE ADDRESS YEAR EST.
1 Abia State University, Uturu Prof. E. Uche Ikonne http://www.absu.edu.ng 1981
2 Adamawa State University Mubi Prof (Mrs) Kaletapwa Farauta http://www.adsu.edu.ng 2002
3 Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Professor Igbekele Amos Ajibefun http://www.aaua.edu.ng 1999
4 Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Akpaden Professor Eno James Ibanga http://www.aksu.edu.ng 2010
5 Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma Professor Ignatius A. Onimawo http://www.aauekpoma.edu.ng 1980
6 Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli Professor Fidelis Uzochukwu Okafor http://coou.edu.ng/ 2000
7 Bauchi State University, Gadau Prof. Ezzildin M. Abdulrahman http://www.basug.edu.ng 2011
8 Benue State University, Makurdi Professor Msugh Moses Kembe http://www.bsum.edu.ng 1992
9 Yobe State University, Damaturu Professor Yakubu Muktar http://www.ysu.edu.ng 2006
10 Cross River State University of Technology, Calabar Professor A. Owan Enoh http://www.crutech.edu.ng 2004
11 Delta State University Abraka Professor Victor Peretomode http://www.delsu.edu.ng 1992
12 Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki Professor Chigozie N Ogbu http://www.ebsu.edu.ng 2000
13 Ekiti State University Prof. Samuel Oye Bandele http://www.eksu.edu.ng 1982
14 Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu Prof. Luke O Anike http://www.esut.edu.ng 1982
15 Gombe State Univeristy, Gombe Professor Ibrahim Musa Umar http://www.gomsu.org 2004
16 Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai Professor Muhammad N Maiturare http://www.ibbu.edu.ng 2005
17 Ignatius Ajuru University of Education,Rumuolumeni Prof. Ozo-Mekuri Ndimele http://www.iaue.edu.ng 2010
18 Imo State University, Owerri Prof. Mrs Victoria Obasi (Ag) http://www.imsu.edu.ng 1992
19 Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, Jigawa Prof. Abdullahi Yusuf Ribadu http://www.slu.edu.ng 2013
20 Kaduna State University, Kaduna Professor Muhammad Tanko http://www.kasu.edu.ng 2004
21 Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil Professor IShehu A Musa http://www.kustportal.edu.ng 2000
22 Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero Prof. Bashar Ladan Aliero http://www.ksusta.edu.ng 2006
23 Kogi State University Anyigba Professor Mohammed Sanni Abdulkadir http://www.ksu.edu.ng 1999
24 Kwara State University, Ilorin Professor A. Na-Allah http://www.kwasu.edu.ng 2009
25 Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso Prof. Adeniyi S Gbadegesin http://www.lautech.edu.ng 1990
26 Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa Prof. Sunday R Ogunduyile http://www.osustech.edu.ng 2008
27 River State University of Science and Technology Prof. Blessing Chimezie Didia http://www.ust.edu.ng 1979
28 Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye Prof Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde http://www.oouagoiwoye.edu.ng 1982
29 Lagos State University, Ojo Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun http://www.lasu.edu.ng 1983
30 Niger Delta University Yenagoa Prof. Samuel Gowon Edoumiekumo http://www.ndu.edu.ng 2000
31 Nasarawa State University Keffi Prof. Muhammad Akaro Mainoma http://www.nsuk.edu.ng 2002
32 Plateau State University Bokkos Prof. Doknan Sheni http://www.plasu.edu.ng 2005
33 Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu Ode Prof. Oluyemisi Obilade http://www.tasued.edu.ng 2005
34 Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina Prof. Idris Isa Funtua http://www.umyu.edu.ng 2006
35 Osun State University Osogbo Prof Labode Popoola http://www.uniosun.edu.ng 2006
36 Taraba State University, Jalingo Prof. Vincent Ado Tenebe http://www.tsuniversity.edu.ng 2008
37 Sokoto State University Prof. Sani M Dangwaggo http://www.ssu.edu.ng 2009
38 Yusuf Maitama Sule University Kano Prof. Mustapha Ahmad Isah http://www.nwu.edu.ng 2012
39 Oyo State Technical University Ibadan Prof. Abayomi Salami https://tech-u.edu.ng/ 2012
40 Ondo State University of Medical Sciences Prof. Friday Okonofua http://www.unimed.edu.ng 2015
41 Edo University Iyamo Prof. Emmanuel Aluyor (Ag) http://www.edouniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
42 Eastern Palm University Ogboko, Imo State Prof. Dafe Otobo https://www.epu.edu.ng/ 2016
43 University of Africa Toru Orua, Bayelsa State https://www.uat.edu.ng/public/ 2016
44 Bornu State University, Maiduguri 2016
45 Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology Abeokuta 2017
46 Gombe State University of Science and Technology 2017
47 Zamfara State University 2018
READ  Jamb chemistry questions and answers is here live

List of private Universities in Nigeria approved by NUC (2019/2020 update Latest List)

Let’s show you guys the list of private Universities in Nigeria that is recognized by the Federal government regulatory agency known as NUC.

NOTE : there are many fake road side institutions that are parading themselves as private universities. Don’t fall for such scam as they are not accredited by NUC.

Take your time and go through the listed universities in Nigeria

S/N PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES VICE CHANCELLOR WEBSITE ADDRESS YEAR EST.
1 Achievers University, Owo Professor Tunji Samuel Ibiyemi http://www.achievers.edu.ng 2007
2 Adeleke University, Ede Prof. Samuel E Alao http://www.adelekeuniversity.edu.ng 2011
3 Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State Professor M.O Ajisafe http://www.abuad.edu.ng 2009
4 African University of Science & Technology, Abuja Professor Kingston Nyamapfene http://aust.edu.ng 2007
5 Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan Prof. Dapo F Asaju http://www.acu.edu.ng 2005
6 Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin Professor Taofeek Ibrahim https://www.alhikmah.edu.ng 2005
7 Al-Qalam University, Katsina Prof. Shehu G. Ado http://www.auk.edu.ng 2005
8 American University of Nigeria, Yola Dr. Dawn Dekle http://www.aun.edu.ng 2003
9 Augustine University Prof. Steve OlaOluwa Afolami http://www.augustineuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
10 Babcock University,Ilishan-Remo Professor Ademola Stephen Tayo http://www.babcock.edu.ng 1999
11 Baze University Prof. Tahir Mamman http://www.bazeuniversity.edu.ng 2011
12 Bells University of Technology, Otta Professor Jeremiah Ojediran http://www.bellsuniversity.org 2005
13 Benson Idahosa University, Benin City Prof. Ernest B. Izevbigie http://www.idahosauniversity.com 2002
14 Bingham University, New Karu Prof. William Barnabas Qurix http://www.binghamuni.edu.ng 2005
15 Bowen University, Iwo Professor. Matthews Akintunde Ojo http://www.bowenuniversity-edu.org 2001
16 Caleb University, Lagos Professor Ayandiji D Aina http://www.calebuniversity.edu.ng 2007
17 Caritas University, Enugu Professor Vincent C. Okore http://www.caritasuni.edu.ng/ 2005
18 Chrisland University Prof (Mrs) Chinedum Peace Babalola http://www.chrislanduniversity.edu.ng 2015
19 Covenant University Ota Prof. Aderemi A Atayero http://www.covenantuniversity.edu.ng/ 2002
20 Crawford University Igbesa Prof. Isaac Rotimi Ajayi http://www.crawforduniversity.edu.ng 2005
21 Crescent University Professor Ibrahim Gbajabiamila http://www.crescent-university.edu.ng 2005
22 Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo Prof. Timothy O Olagbemiro http://www.edwinclarkuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
23 Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin Prof. T O Fadayomi http://www.elizadeuniversity.edu.ng 2012
24 Evangel University, Akaeze Prof. I U Kalu http://www.evangeluniversity.edu.ng 2012
25 Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo Prof. Usman Abdullateef http://www.fountainuniversity.edu.ng 2007
26 Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State Prof. (Revd.) Chikelu. Anieke http://www.gouni.edu.ng 2009
27 Gregory University, Uturu Prof. M O E Iwuala http://www.gregoryuniversity.com 2012
28 Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun Prof. Segun Odunola http://www.hallmark.edu.ng 2015
29 Hezekiah University, Umudi Prof. Enoch Ajunwa http://hezekiah.edu.ng/ 2015
30 Igbinedion University Okada Professor Lawrence Ikechukwu Ezemonye http://www.iuokada.edu.ng 1999
31 Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji Professor Sola Fajana http://www.jabu.edu.ng 2006
32 Kings University, Ode Omu Prof. Diran Famurewa http://www.kingsuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
33 Kwararafa University, Wukari Professor Yakubu A Ochefu http://www.wukarijubileeuniversity.org 2005
34 Landmark University, Omu-Aran. Professor Aize O Obayan http://www.lmu.edu.ng 2011
35 Lead City University, Ibadan Prof. Kabiru Aderemi Adeyemo http://www.lcu.edu.ng 2005
36 Madonna University, Okija Prof. Chucks E. Ezedum http://www.madonnauniversity.edu.ng 1999
37 Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo Prof. Adeniyi Agunbiade http://www.mcu.edu.ng 2012
38 Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University Prof. (Mrs.) Ibiynka A. Fuwape http://mciu.edu.ng/ 2015
39 Mountain Top University Prof Elijah Ayolabi http://www.mountaintopuniversity.org/ 2015
40 Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja Professor Huseyin Sert http://www.ntnu.edu.ng 2009
41 Novena University, Ogume Prof Chris Aniche Okoroafor http://www.novenauniversity.edu.ng 2005
42 Obong University, Obong Ntak Professor Udouda M Ekanemesang http://www.obonguniversity.net 2007
43 Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State Prof. Chibuzo Nnate Nwoke http://www.oduduwauniversity.edu.ng 2009
44 Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos Professor Juan Manuel Elegido http://www.pau.edu.ng 2002
45 Paul University, Awka – Anambra State Professor Uche Isiugo-Abanihe http://www.pauluniversity.edu.ng 2009
46 Redeemer’s University, Mowe Professor Z. Debo Adeyewa http://www.run.edu.ng 2005
47 Renaissance University, Enugu Prof. C C Onochie http://www.renaissanceuniversityng.com 2005
48 Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State Professor O. C. Onwudike http://www.rhemauniversity.edu.ng 2009
49 Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom Prof. Celestine A Ntuen http://www.ritmanuniversity.edu.ng 2015
50 Salem University, Lokoja Prof. (Mrs) Dorcas Oluwade http://www.salemuniversity.org 2007
51 Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa. Prof. Benard E. Aigbokhan http://www.sau.edu.ng 2011
52 Southwestern University, Oku Owa Prof. Babatunde A Ikotun http://www.southwesternuniversity.edu.ng 2012
53 Summit University Prof. H O B Oloyede http://www.summituniversity.edu.ng 2015
54 Tansian University, Umunya Professor Obioma Matthew Iheduru http://tansianuniversity.edu.ng/ 2007
55 University of Mkar, Mkar Prof. Iorwese D Gernah http://www.unimkar.edu.ng 2005
56 Veritas University, Abuja Prof. Michael Kwanashie http://www.veritas.edu.ng 2007
57 Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State Professor F E Obi Ikediugwu http://www.wellspringuniversity.net 2009
58 Wesley University. of Science & Technology, Ondo Professor Olu Aderounmu http://www.wusto.edu.ng 2007
59 Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State Prof. (Mrs) Olete Okobiah http://wdu.edu.ng 2007
60 Christopher University Mowe Prof. Friday Ndubuisi http://www.christopheruniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
61 Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State Prof. Kolade Ayorinde http://www.koladaisiuniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
62 Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State Prof. J O Afolayan http://www.aul.edu.ng/ 2016
63 Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State Prof. Anthony Akinwole http://www.dui.edu.ng/ 2016
64 Legacy University, Okija Anambra State Prof. Moses Nkem Chendo http://www.legacyuniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
65 Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State Prof. Julian Osuji http://www.arthurjarvisuniversity.edu.ng/ 2016
66 Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State Prof John Adesiji Olorunmaiye 2016
67 Coal City University Enugu State Prof. Malachy Ike Okwueze 2016
68 Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State Prof. Chimezie A Omeonu http://www.clifforduni.edu.ng/ 2016
69 Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State http://www.adun.edu.ng 2017
70 Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State 2017
71 Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo 2017
72 PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt Prof. Michael Diejomaoh 2017
73 Atiba University Oyo 2017
74 Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences Ijanikin, Lagos Professor Muheez Alani Durosinmi http://www.ekounivmed.edu.ng 2017
75 Skyline University, Kano 2018
READ  courses offered in UNIUYO 2019/2020|admission requirements |list of accredited courses offered in the University of Uyo

what others are reading

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *